The Working Mom's Real World Exercise Adventure

The real adventure of a working mom out to lose weight!

Day 3 October 7, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — wdeiorio @ 9:10 am

I want to say thank you to my dear friend, Rhonda…she had given me a few helpful tips as I head towards my goal. She had mentioned using weights – maybe about 10-20 pounds…well, I don’t happen to have any free weights lying around the house, so I found the next best FREE alternative…my KIDS!!!

It’s perfect! I have a nearly 2 month old who weighs just a little over 10 pounds! I can lift, carry her (which I’d be doing anyway)…we still get our bonding time and she helps me work off what she inadvertantly help me put on! Ha!! And for Kallie – well, she’s my ‘medicine ball’…she weighs just shy of 50 pounds. Last night as we went for our walk, I pushed Kyns in the stroller and pulled my 50 pound weight in her wagon behind me. I’m sure it was quite a site, but it worked!

I’d alternate arms between the girls as we walked – I could get upper and lower body workouts duirng our brisk mile long walk! I’ve tried doing some sit ups at night while I’m laying down, but the c-section is still a little tender so I need to go easy on that one!

Shawn will be home tonight (Yeah! No more softball season…just on to basketball now). He wanted to go walking with us tonight…see, I knew it would motivate him too!

 

Leave a comment